Finding my place

I can be happy in this city after all.

I knew when I ran out of trail, and was dashing admits a crowd of trees, that I could survive here. More than survive. The place is called Rock Creek. It is a two minute run from my apartment to a trail complex in the woods along a creek — in the middle of D.C. I was impressed that it even existed. And in love. It is funny how something that simple can change my world. Just the chance to run, on my own, away from it all.

I realize I struggle with change, I’ve been made aware of that when I complain to close friends and family. I like to think that it is because I love life so much that I don’t want anything to shift. But, the blessing is, starting to love my new life usually evolves quickly.

I try to remember that now.

The city overwhelms me, but at the same time excites me. I got lost in the third floor of the United States capital yesterday. I don’t know that I ever thought I could say that. And the security guards there are sweethearts. They directed me, and I made it out of there with a Senate and House of Representatives press pass. So that’s cool.

And at least I don’t have to worry about my boss being mad for me being late because I was lost. He doesn’t pay much attention to when I leave and when I come back. The great thing about my internship, while I may struggle with the lack-of-structure, it is very low stress around the office. I can use that for a change, I think.

Leave a Reply

