The escalator fast lane

escalator

Just because the staircase is moving doesn’t mean you can stop.

I learned today that on escalators in D.C. there is a fast lane and a, well, stopped lane.

But may the escalator gods have mercy if you stand in place on the left side of the escalator. Nope, that side is designated for people who run up them.

In the past 12 hours I’ve ridden on more escalators than the rest of my life combined. That is what this creepy, underground train that takes ten flights of escalators to get to will bring you.

It also showed me that practice will help you conquer any fear. I’m still scared of a lot of things, but I’m not scared of getting off escalators anymore. Sure I might get run over by a man in a suit-coat, but I think I’ve got that dismount down.

I moved to Washington, D.C. today. I’m here for an internship as a reporter with the Hispanic Link News Service. And I have never been this alone in my life.

But, I think I’ll get used to it. Gosh, with 632,323 in this town people there is a lot of friends waiting.

Leave a Reply

